top of page

MyDogSighs exclusive interview


Exclusive interview with Paul Stone, artist of MyDogSighs for our July / Latest Man issue by Giampiero Amodeo.


“Despite of his name, he never had a dog. He instead has a wife, kids and a very particular point of view. He finds art in everyday life, working with dog food cans, trash, paint, old books, walls. Melting trash art and street art, feeling them as a gift to everybody.

Father of the Free Art Friday, My Dog Sighs is one of the most prolific artists of his time. Starting 15 years ago, while he was working as a kinder garden teacher, his ascending career brought him all over the world, now with two upcoming exhibitions, in Rome and Melbourne..”


Commission for @cartfordinn in little Eccleston, Lancashire

I’ve read that your name came from a scribble on a fence that you noticed when you were a boy. I found interesting that the origin of your street art career started with a simple writing, are there other inspirations from your adolescence that still boosts your production?

I have always been the child who walks staring at the floor, finding treasure in other peoples trash and falling in love daily with the aesthetics of peeling paint and rust. I still carry those traits with me and I suppose they still have a strong influence over my work.

And what about other artists from the past? Is there someone you’d like to consider as a mentor?

I’m am from a small city where I wasn’t able to find a physical mentor. I seemed to develop my own path through trial and error. The creation of the internet led me to virtually stalk a range of artists over the years. I don’t have a great art history education but am trying my best to look back into understanding past masters as well as studying my contemporaries.


@forgotten_project wall in Trastevere


@forgotten_project wall in Trastevere

Last march you worked in Rome, on an ancient wall of San Cosimato Complex in Trastevere. How was it working with such historical building? Any difference between The City and the Eternal City?

The wall in Trastevere initially caused me to be frustrated. It was the wrong size for a pair of eyes, not visible from a distance, covered in doors, windows and the surface walls falling apart. But I am pragmatic and started to see these problems as opportunities. Because of these initial problems I was able to think creatively and now feel it is one of my strongest works. The feedback from the public when I was painting was very good too. Lots of locals appreciated the sympathy I showed he wall.


wall for #charteracademy school in portsmouth

Read more in the issue!

bottom of page