top of page

"MFW: Salvatore Ferragamo SS20"



all images here by Filippo Fior c/o gorunway.com | courtesy of Vogue

For his fourth show at the helm of Salvatore Ferragamo, designer Paul Andrew was inspired by a family memory: «For the prints, I started from a photograph I found on the fireplace - explains the designer -. It dates to the 80s and portrays me and my brother as children, with our mother, during a vacation in Sicily. I was wearing shorts with unlikely prints, but I wanted to convey this sense of cheerfulness and joy, so I reproduced the same motif on the clothes in this collection ».


The Spring Summer 2020 collection is also characterized by the designer's intent to create something that could be remembered: «Working on the collection, I realized that I had never done something classic or iconic and I thought this could be a challenge ». Paul Andrew, then, reinterpreted the brand's best-selling shoes: the Vera model, presented by Fiamma Ferragamo in 1979. Forty years later, the Viva model is born.


This collection also establishes an attempt to resurrect the brand's swim collection, which was left dormant for about a decade. Instead, you can notice Florence and Italy in the fabrics that reproduce the Fountain of Neptune, recently renovated by the Ferragamo family. There is an attempt to convey the carefree mood of an Italian summer on the structure of the clothing: through the presence of bubble skirts, for example, or by cutting away the back on sweaters and coats. Leather is, of course, the stylistic signature of the Florentine fashion house, and in this collection, Paul Andrew uses it a lot and makes it ductile and thin.



*slide to watch the looks



words Elena Affricani




bottom of page