top of page

"Teddy Quinlivan: the first transgender model for Chanel Beauty"

Chanel has always been a pioneer of change, breaking the rules of style that bound the women of her time to a fashion that was passed, superficial and uncomfortable. The Maison that has modernity inherent in its legacy perpetuates today this innovative current and does so by presenting Teddy Quinlivan, the transgender American model as the new face of Chanel Beauty.


courtesy iodonna.com

Teddy, the 25-year-old native of Boston, was not entirely unfamiliar with the Maison; indeed, she had already walked for Chanel twice after her debut in fashion in 2015, adding to the list many other famous brands such as Dior Haute Couture, Louis Vuitton, Miu Miu and Alexander Wang. In 2017 she decided to come out, thus marking a milestone that has not prevented her from continuing to work and to proudly represent her community.


Concerning this important victory of hers she wrote a message on her Instagram account that says: “[…]I had walked 2 shows for Chanel while I was living in stealth ( stealth meaning I hadn’t made my trans identity public yet) and when I came out I knew I’d stop working with some brands, I thought I’d never work with the iconic house of Chanel ever again. But here I am in Chanel Beauty Advertising. I am the first openly trans person to work for the house of Chanel, and I am deeply humbled and proud to represent my community. The world will kick you down, spit on you, and tell you you’re worthless. It’s your job to have the strength to stand up and push on, to keep fighting, because if you give up then you will never experience the tears of triumph.”


Words by Ludovica Mucci


LATEST S.R.L.S.

P.IVA - CF 15126391000

REA Roma RM-1569553

Raimondo Scintu 78 street,

00173 Rome, Italy

06-86603422

Marta Forgione - president

hello.latestmagazine@gmail.com

LATEST 

is a registered trademark

Any unauthorized use will be

punished according to law.

STOCKISTS

bottom of page